David Frederick's | iAIR BLOG

Consulting, Innovation, Strategy, Vision, Education, & Ideation

Saying Thank You

You know, one of the most effective management action I ever did when I managed employee’s in a global work force was to simply, sincerely and genuinely say thank you for something some one did regardless of how insignificant. I never reserved it for only above and beyond moments, but used it regularly and sincerely. Maybe it was the way I was raised, my life and management philosophy, or that it simple works and is the right thing to do. People in general, at the most basic level want to be appreciated. It’s as simple as that.

I have found that it is not only productive in working with your employee’s, friends, family, spouse, etc. it also naturally produces superior results. In the work place, it also makes you a better manager and engenders a stronger environment for communication, productivity and the willingness of your employee’s and colleagues to go the extra mile when that’s needed. Not surprisingly, it also works well with your clients, suppliers and others you interact with. You would be surprised what a simple heartfelt thank you can accomplish. You should try it sometime. 😉

On this simple topic of thank you, I came across this blog article by Whitney Johnson talking about this exact point. I think its worth sharing and consideration. Check it out here!

-DF

Written by David Frederick

March 1, 2011 at 10:44 AM

